Select Page
Poker Forum
Over 1,292,000 Posts!
Poker ForumBeginners Circle

KK ahead - then AA hits turn/river

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Default KK ahead - then AA hits turn/river

    Edit for clarity - see question in red at bottom.

    I'm almost certainly ahead on flop. But the turn reminded me of the classic "KK on Axx flop" thread where Gabe says Hero has to check. If he cbets, only Ax hands call. If he checks, villain may bluff/rep the ace. Here's the hand. Villain is 46/18/1.1 but only 40 hands.

    $0.05/$0.1 No Limit Holdem
    6 players
    Converted at weaktight.com

    Stacks:
    UTG ($10.25)
    UTG+1 ($2.80)
    Hero ($10.82)
    BTN ($7.67)
    SB ($6.29)
    BB ($1.70)

    Pre-flop: ($0.15, 6 players) Hero is CO
    1 fold, UTG+1 calls $0.10, Hero raises to $0.45, 3 folds, UTG+1 calls $0.35

    Flop: ($1.05, 2 players)
    UTG+1 checks, Hero bets $1.05, UTG+1 calls $1.05

    Turn: ($3.15, 2 players)
    UTG+1 checks, Hero checks

    River: ($3.15, 2 players)
    UTG+1 goes all-in $1.30, Hero calls $1.30

    [Results Hidden]


    Best line after value betting flop? Do you call both turn/river? As played, I think the river call is catching a bluff pretty often, but what do we do if villain bets out on the turn? Thoughts if villain has 100bb stack?
  2. #2
    That sucks, put the rest in on the turn anyway.
  3. #3
    Muzzard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,315
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    What portion of his limp calling range can he call a flop bet with that hit the turn?

    I bet the turn all day vs such a short stack, I robably c/turn to get more value out of Qx hands vs a bigger stack. Given the fact that another A hit the river, makes it less likely he has an A so I call.

    Also given the fact we have KK makes it much less likely he has KJ for the draw.
  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Muzzard
    What portion of his limp calling range can he call a flop bet with that hit the turn?
    Seriously, he's l/c about 30%, and not with his Top 10% or so. So his limp/call range is likely pp's < TT, Axs and Ax (x < J), sc's, sooted broadways, sooted 1-gappers. That's not quite 30%, so choose from some Kxs (x > 7), other sooted junk and maybe a coupla Qx, too.

    He MIGHT call with any Qx or Tx hand, J9, 98 or A5. Hard to believe there's much else in his range he could call with. And I see what you mean. The only hands there that love the turn are AT and A5.

    For an lol, he showed down 53s (not diamonds). Which I didn't really have in his range after the flop call.

    FWIW, this hand just got me thinking about being oop with deep stacks with KK on the turn when an Ace hits - just curious if Gabe's principal applies there? And Muzz, your point is well-taken - he's gotta have a lot of Aces left in his turn range for us to apply Gabe's rule.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •