Quote Originally Posted by CaseAce
I understand the ratios now, thanks. But, you confused me with the 6 out of 47 cards left. Is that right after the flop? And the turns about to hit? I have been using the 4, 2 rule. So wouldn't I multiply the 6 by 4?

Or have I been doing it wrong the whole time?
I think this is an idea from limit holdem. For example, if you bet from the button, you might get checked too on the turn, "buying a free card". In that case it would be 6*4 because you would have two chances to catch one of your six cards. If you are facing an aggro NL opponent then you will not get the river card without paying again, so you should be using the 6 * 2 rule (unless you go all-in, then you get 2 cards).

So to answer your question, "It depends".