|
maximo
|
05-03-2005, 03:43 PM
Post subject: Are the chips on ebay really clay composite? Umm...........
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
|
|
I've been playing hold'em for quite a while now. We've always used my firend's chips, but now we're alternating the games from his house to mine. Anyways, I decided to get my own chips and cards. I ordered a deck of Copag cards which I like better than my friends KEM's.
Back to my question: My friends chips we're ordered from fivestardeal.com and his have the feel of clay and of course have the metal insert. I have a concern that some people may be flase advertising because another friend of mine ordered some chips from ebay and his feel completely different. They're almost metal like. They clank when they touch each other; in other words they're cheap feeling. I emailed the the guy whom I buy bought my chips from, and he said that they were clay composite not the hard plastic type stuff.
here they are: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1
|
|
|
Play for FREE and practice your game at...
Join the FTR Poker Forum to disable these banners and start posting!
|
|
eeeee
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 906
|
|
I am not a chip expert or a chip snob, but I have a growing interest that I am feeding by reading at chiptalk.net and their forums. There are some specific chip reviews, and also links to chip reviews on other sites, that have some detail that may answer your questions. There are also review of the specific chips you are shopping here at FTR: http://poker-chips.flopturnriver.com/lp/poker-chips.php
My thumbnail response is that all 11.5 grams all have the metal inserts and are all composite, and while there may be some minor differences in "feel", you might as well get the pretty ones. Composite=plastic. The word "clay" is used misleadingly. Clay composite has none of the material in it that you would normally think of as clay -- it is a synthetic "clay". And everyone is callinging that stuff "clay composite" -- that is still considered honest; the liars just call it clay.
The more recent "composite-with-clay-feel-with-insert" that folks are talking about is NexGen 12g chips -- still plastic but looks more authentic and feels nicer, and these are available on 5Star. And, there is support for cheaper chips without metal inserts, such as the 8 or 9g diamond chips -- mono-color chips, very simple, cheap, but feel pretty nice (for less than the price of the item you linked to.) And there is another cheap chip, 10g with dice, referred to as "faux clay" that is correct weight, no insert, monocolored.
If you know you'd be happy with the same chips as your friend, look for the same design on 5Star, then shop around for those. Let us all know if you are satisfied with your final descision.
|
|
I'm a know-it-all.
No, really.
|
|
TenPercenter
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 16
|
|
eeeee is spot on. Not to say these chips won't do the trick (any will, hell you can use toothpicks if you want) but the "clay" in "clay composite" really means "ABS plastic" when it comes to these chips. There are some chips out there that aren't clay but still feel great (faux clay, 13g Pro Clay.. neither of chich have a bit of clay in them). MOST chips, especially when you see the word "11.5g" in the title, will be slick plastic chips.
Here is an article by a trusted member of ChipTalk that gives a lot more detail on this chips:
http://www.chiptalk.net/forum/cms_vi...cle.php?aid=12
Ten
|
TenPercenter
|
|
ChezJ
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,456
|
|
"composite" is just a fancy word for plastic. there are different qualities of plastic, but fundamentally, none of them have any relation whatsoever to clay or the "clay" chips used at casinos.
in fact, no chips in use today are made of actual clay.
i know of three types of chips used at casinos.
1. compression-molded chips made of a durable clay-like composition of materials. artwork is printed on a circular insert. edge spots are formed from a different color material embedded in the chip body. surfaces usually feature three dimensional imprints of horse heads, hats & canes, casino names, etc. e.g.: http://oldvegaschips.com/1horseshoe100.htm , http://www.callzia.com/dghome/acchips/tro-5e.jpg . atlantic standard (pokerchips.com) and t.r.king (trking.com) are two major companies that make these.
2. chipco pro-tech chips made of a ceramic material and coated with a wraparound shell printed with the artwork. edge spots are printed onto the shell, which is flat and has no three dimensional imprints or reliefs. e.g.: http://oldvegaschips.com/1palms3rd.htm , http://www.callzia.com/dghome/acchips/cae-25a.jpg . chipco only sells them to casinos and corporations but you can order your own thru homepokerchips.com and many sites offer chipco chips with stock designs (e.g.: buypokerchips.com)
3. heavy plastic chips with fancy color designs embedded in the plastic and sometimes a glittery insert. e.g.: http://www.callzia.com/dghome/acchips/BOR-5.jpg , http://www.cashcoinconnection.com/ga...cleClub100.jpg . these are much higher quality plastic than the stuff on ebay and i don't know who makes them or whether they are commercially available.
ChezJ
|
|
|
|
hachkc
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 18
|
|
Why was 10% banned out of curiousity? I don't remember his signature being offensive.
|
|
|
|
eeeee
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 906
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by hachkc
Why was 10% banned out of curiousity? I don't remember his signature being offensive.
|
I have nothing to do with the ban, but...
Ten has his own website that he linked through his signature. I recall that he had been warned once before. I mentioned his website in my first response in this thread, and the site has some products that compete with FTR sponsored products (FTR products linked in my upper thread response.) In his above post, Ten also appropriately mentioned his own website as a source for information, but his sig crossed the line of self-promotion. <-- a "no offense intended" smile.
|
|
I'm a know-it-all.
No, really.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by eeeee
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by hachkc
Why was 10% banned out of curiousity? I don't remember his signature being offensive.
|
I have nothing to do with the ban, but...
Ten has his own website that he linked through his signature. I recall that he had been warned once before. I mentioned his website in my first response in this thread, and the site has some products that compete with FTR sponsored products (FTR products linked in my upper thread response.) In his above post, Ten also appropriately mentioned his own website as a source for information, but his sig crossed the line of self-promotion.  <-- a "no offense intended" smile.
|
This post is the first time I've had any clue why I was banned, and I assure you it's bugged me a great deal. It's a bad feeling when you get banned without warning and you can't figure out why.
I honestly think my signature was pointed to my family website that has a list of dealers' choice poker games, not a link to my forum or anything else commercial. I had this account prior to starting my forum. I can show you the link if you want, it was quite innocent I assure you.
Regarding my forum: I assure you that my forum does not sell any products at all! It's a forum, not a retail sales site.
Ten
|
|
|
|
FyrFytr998
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Milford,Ct.
Posts: 1,412
|
|
Already pleading your case for you Ten.
|
|
|
|
rob6597
|
|
Straight
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by 10percenter
Either way, the rule against any outside URL's was posted just about the exact same time I got banned, and I didnt see the new rule until I started looking around trying to figure out why I was banned.
|
Just a friendly FYI... and so people don't think that FTR management makes up rules and then indiscriminately enforces them immediately...
The "new" rule was posted May 21, 2004... not 2005.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by rob6597
Just a friendly FYI... and so people don't think that FTR management makes up rules and then indiscriminately enforces them immediately...
The "new" rule was posted May 21, 2004... not 2005.
|
Good call rob. It was so close I wrongly made that assumption.
Ten
|
|
|
|
eeeee
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 906
|
|
Well, it looks like Ten is unbanned, so let's drop it? Glad to see you again Ten. My input was only conjecture anyway, and the issue has apparently been fixed.
|
|
I'm a know-it-all.
No, really.
|
|
a500lbgorilla
|
|
JESUS TAKE THE KEYBOARD
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: This room is a good place to be
Posts: 8,379
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by eeeee
Well, it looks like Ten is unbanned, so let's drop it? Glad to see you again Ten. My input was only conjecture anyway, and the issue has apparently been fixed.
|
I refuse to drop it! THIS IS AN OUTRAGE! I WILL NEVER LET THIS. Oooo a cookie!
-'rilla
|

Smithers, use the amnesia ray.
You mean the revolver, sir?
Precisely.
|
|
Pizzaman
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 73
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by a500lbgorilla
I refuse to drop it! THIS IS AN OUTRAGE! I WILL NEVER LET THIS. Oooo a cookie!
-'rilla
|
Rilla, you crack me up!!!!!!!
|

God Bless America
|
|
eeeee
|
|
Full House
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 906
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by a500lbgorilla
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by eeeee
Well, it looks like Ten is unbanned, so let's drop it? Glad to see you again Ten. My input was only conjecture anyway, and the issue has apparently been fixed.
|
I refuse to drop it! THIS IS AN OUTRAGE! I WILL NEVER LET THIS. Oooo a cookie!
-'rilla
|
I got to meet you sometime 'Rilla, but I'd like there to be bars between us
|
|
I'm a know-it-all.
No, really.
|