Poker Forum

Over 1,246,000 Posts!

Subscribe to FTR web feed
Already Registered?      Username:    Password:   Remember      Forgot Password
  >    > 

wierd virus message

  
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
bode
Old 05-29-2009, 11:30 AM     Post subject: wierd virus message #1 (permalink)  
bode's Avatar
Straight Flush

Join Date: May 2006
Location: slow motion
Posts: 4,270
bode is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to bode
so i keep getting a "Critical System Warning!" message from some program called Personal AntiVirus that i dont remember ever installing. It says there is a Trojan.Win32.Agent.azsy that is a "Windows PE EXE" that attempts to steal passwords from the internet. Is this something i should take serious or is this just a way for this company to get me to buy their product.

I use the free version of AVG and am running a full scan on my comp right now, but so far nothing has been picked up.
Quote:
eeevees are not monies yet...they are like baby monies.
 
Reply With Quote
Join the FTR Poker Forum to disable these banners and start posting!
Lucothefish
Old 05-29-2009, 11:38 AM #2 (permalink)  
Lucothefish's Avatar
Full House

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cretaceous Park
Posts: 701
Lucothefish will become famous soon enough
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...onal-antivirus
<@d0zer> how will you learn if I don't berate you harshly?
 
Reply With Quote
bigred
Old 05-29-2009, 11:48 AM #3 (permalink)  
bigred's Avatar
PROFESSIONAL TROLL

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nest of Douchebags
Posts: 2,184
bigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to all
U gots the eAids, unclean, unclean!
LOL OPERATIONS
 
Reply With Quote
bode
Old 05-29-2009, 01:11 PM #4 (permalink)  
bode's Avatar
Straight Flush

Join Date: May 2006
Location: slow motion
Posts: 4,270
bode is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to bode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucothefish
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-personal-antivirus
thanks. i take it this is safe to download and use? because it kind of seems like a similar thing to personal antivirus.

i found out my wife was clicking on random links last night trying to find something and downloaded it. Another reason whey teh mimenz shouldn't use the internet unsupervised.
Quote:
eeevees are not monies yet...they are like baby monies.
 
Reply With Quote
Lucothefish
Old 05-29-2009, 01:16 PM #5 (permalink)  
Lucothefish's Avatar
Full House

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cretaceous Park
Posts: 701
Lucothefish will become famous soon enough
Yeah malwarebytes downloads are safe.

http://download.bleepingcomputer.com...mbam-setup.exe

Download, run, bye bye false antivirus.
<@d0zer> how will you learn if I don't berate you harshly?
 
Reply With Quote
bode
Old 05-29-2009, 01:37 PM #6 (permalink)  
bode's Avatar
Straight Flush

Join Date: May 2006
Location: slow motion
Posts: 4,270
bode is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to bode
thanks alot luco. i was about to transfer all my stars and FTP money to someone so i didn't risk getting it hacked.
Quote:
eeevees are not monies yet...they are like baby monies.
 
Reply With Quote
Warpe
Old 05-29-2009, 01:41 PM #7 (permalink)  
Warpe's Avatar
Moderator

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canuckistan
Posts: 3,905
Warpe is a jewel in the roughWarpe is a jewel in the roughWarpe is a jewel in the roughWarpe is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by bode
thanks alot luco. i was about to transfer all my stars and FTP money to someone so i didn't risk getting it hacked.
Change your passwords, obv.
 
Reply With Quote
Lucothefish
Old 05-29-2009, 02:07 PM #8 (permalink)  
Lucothefish's Avatar
Full House

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cretaceous Park
Posts: 701
Lucothefish will become famous soon enough
Meh, PA is only interested in getting you to buy PA by giving false positives on your virus alerts. There's no skill or hacking involved, it's just scaremongering you for mannies.
<@d0zer> how will you learn if I don't berate you harshly?
 
Reply With Quote
GatorJH
Old 05-29-2009, 03:28 PM #9 (permalink)  
GatorJH's Avatar
4-of-a-Kind

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: HotLanta
Posts: 3,179
GatorJH will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to GatorJH
Quote:
Originally Posted by bode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucothefish
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-personal-antivirus
thanks. i take it this is safe to download and use? because it kind of seems like a similar thing to personal antivirus.

i found out my wife was watching online porn last night trying to find something and downloaded it. Another reason whey teh mimenz shouldn't use the internet unsupervised.
ahhhh, that's better.
Poker is easy, it's winning at poker that's hard.
 
Reply With Quote
Monty3038
Old 05-29-2009, 03:45 PM #10 (permalink)  
Monty3038's Avatar
Full House

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Monty3038 can only hope to improve
Send a message via Yahoo to Monty3038
Also, if ever concerned, you can usually go to www.sarc.com (Symantec) and do a search on the message you are getting, that will usually give you a lot of info whether to believe it or not.
 
Reply With Quote
bigred
Old 05-29-2009, 04:03 PM #11 (permalink)  
bigred's Avatar
PROFESSIONAL TROLL

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nest of Douchebags
Posts: 2,184
bigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to all
I keep getting this error message saying "You are far too awesome to be posting at this forum." What does this mean?
LOL OPERATIONS
 
Reply With Quote
BennyLaRue
Old 05-29-2009, 04:22 PM #12 (permalink)  
BennyLaRue's Avatar
Full House

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 646
BennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of lightBennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of lightBennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of lightBennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of lightBennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of lightBennyLaRue is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred
I keep getting this error message saying "You are far too awesome to be posting at this forum." What does this mean?
It means you're using someone else's Windows profile. Click "Start" and "Log Off". You'll then be given the option to log in to your own profile.
Reply With Quote
bigred
Old 05-29-2009, 04:27 PM #13 (permalink)  
bigred's Avatar
PROFESSIONAL TROLL

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nest of Douchebags
Posts: 2,184
bigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to allbigred is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyLaRue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred
I keep getting this error message saying "You are far too awesome to be posting at this forum." What does this mean?
It means you're using someone else's Windows profile. Click "Start" and "Log Off". You'll then be given the option to log in to your own profile.
I expected more from you. I'm not mad, just disappointed.
LOL OPERATIONS
 
Reply With Quote
lolzzz_321
Old 05-29-2009, 07:02 PM #14 (permalink)  
lolzzz_321's Avatar
NO YOU

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: My ice is polarized
Posts: 2,797
lolzzz_321 is a jewel in the roughlolzzz_321 is a jewel in the roughlolzzz_321 is a jewel in the roughlolzzz_321 is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to lolzzz_321
need some NOD32 itt
Reply With Quote
Reply
Latest Poker News
KoRnholio Old 05-26-2012, 03:08 PM    Australia Legalized Online Poker coming up in next 6 to 12 Months
According to an email sent out by Mark Bryan, a gaming analyst at Merrill Lynch, the Australian government plans to legalize online poker sometime in the next six to 12 months. This move will coincide ...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 AM.


FTR Testimonials

All content
© FlopTurnRiver.com
Advertising  |   Partners  |   Testimonials  |   T&C  |   Contact Us  |   FTR News & Press  |   Site Map  |   Search FTR

Full Tilt  |   Titan Poker  |   UltimateBet  |   Poker Stars  |   Ladbrokes Bonus  |   Sportsbook  |   Cake Poker  

Play Texas Holdem Online, Online Texas Holdem Strategy, & Poker Forum
This is not a gambling website.