Poker Forum

Over 1,247,000 Posts!

Subscribe to FTR web feed
Already Registered?      Username:    Password:   Remember      Forgot Password
  >    > 

Pay No Mind: Unimportant virus hoax

  
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2005, 04:00 PM     Post subject: Pay No Mind: Unimportant virus hoax #1 (permalink)  
Guest

Posts: n/a
See link in gutty's post.


Hey guys, just a quick warning about an email virus that started circulating on Saturday.

If you get a seemingly harmless email with a Powerpoint presentation attached called 'Life is Beautiful.ppt', DO NOT OPEN IT, DELETE IT IMMEDIATELY.

If you do open this presentation, everything on your computer will be deleted and the sender will have access to your name/IP/email address and password.

It's mainly going round Hotmail, AOL, and Gmail.

That was an FTR service announcement, please resume to normal proceedings. :P

{This is a hoax. http://securityresponse.symantec.com...iful.hoax.html - gutshot}
Join the FTR Poker Forum to disable these banners and start posting!
guitarhero14
Old 06-29-2005, 04:22 PM #2 (permalink)  
guitarhero14's Avatar
Flush

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: .05/.10 NL
Posts: 270
guitarhero14
thank you for the heads up. Will have to tell my dad, I know not to open attachments .
-guitar
 
Grand_MasterB
Old 06-29-2005, 08:06 PM #3 (permalink)  
Flush

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 466
Grand_MasterB
Send a message via AIM to Grand_MasterB
just curious.. did you get burned by this?
Estrop
Old 06-29-2005, 08:19 PM #4 (permalink)  
Straight

Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 207
Estrop
I don't know but.. if someone I don't know sends me a email with an attachment called that, it's deleted straight away. If it's someone I know, I'd ask them first because why would anyone send me anything so obviously a virus?

That attachment is as bad as "Here is my pic!". Anyone who falls for them, is no good at email.
Old 06-29-2005, 08:33 PM #5 (permalink)  
Guest

Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grand_MasterB
just curious.. did you get burned by this?
Nope, just got an email warning about it, thought I'd better spread the word.
gutshot
Old 06-29-2005, 09:00 PM #6 (permalink)  
Full House

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: lemonade was a popular drink and it still is
Posts: 608
gutshot
http://securityresponse.symantec.com...iful.hoax.html

Please do the whole internet a favor and check out stuff like this before forwarding it.
-jay

"i think the biggest leak in my game is using 2nd level thinking against players who can't think on the first level." -Renton
 
a500lbgorilla
Old 06-29-2005, 09:03 PM #7 (permalink)  
a500lbgorilla's Avatar
JESUS TAKE THE KEYBOARD

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: This room is a good place to be
Posts: 8,379
a500lbgorilla is a name known to alla500lbgorilla is a name known to alla500lbgorilla is a name known to alla500lbgorilla is a name known to alla500lbgorilla is a name known to alla500lbgorilla is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to a500lbgorilla
{Locked - DMan pwned}

-'rilla

Smithers, use the amnesia ray.
You mean the revolver, sir?
Precisely.
 
Closed Thread
Latest Poker News
KoRnholio Old 05-26-2012, 03:08 PM    Australia Legalized Online Poker coming up in next 6 to 12 Months
According to an email sent out by Mark Bryan, a gaming analyst at Merrill Lynch, the Australian government plans to legalize online poker sometime in the next six to 12 months. This move will coincide ...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:56 PM.


FTR Testimonials

All content
© FlopTurnRiver.com
Advertising  |   Partners  |   Testimonials  |   T&C  |   Contact Us  |   FTR News & Press  |   Site Map  |   Search FTR

Full Tilt  |   Titan Poker  |   UltimateBet  |   Poker Stars  |   Ladbrokes Bonus  |   Sportsbook  |   Cake Poker  

Play Texas Holdem Online, Online Texas Holdem Strategy, & Poker Forum
This is not a gambling website.